Jailbreak on the Farm

As you can probably guess from the title and the picture, I had a little “incident” with Penny recently.  Last week our family was awakened at midnight by a persistent pounding at the door.  While we don’t live in the middle of nowhere, we do live at the end of a LONG street with only a handful of neighbors; therefore it was quite unusual for someone to be 1) POUNDING ON our door and 2) to be doing so at such a late hour.  Needless to say, we were extremely concerned about who might be at our door.

Turns out it was a member of the Orange County Sheriff’s Department.  Our cow Penny, for reasons only known to her, decided that it would be a good evening to push through her fence and go for a stroll.  When I say a stroll, I really mean a 1 mile romp down our road, all the way to a reasonably well traveled 45 MPH road.  Why that far?  I have no idea.

At 12:30am, I drove my truck to the end of our road, parked, and walked an additional ¼ mile to find Penny being tended to by the Sheriff and Animal Control.   After thanking them and apologizing, I lead Penny the entire mile back to the house.  We were extremely fortunate that she wasn’t hurt and didn’t cause any damage.

So I ask, do you think you want to own a cow?

7 responses to “Jailbreak on the Farm

  1. Ahh, the trials and tribulations of farm life -it still beats living in the city any time! Although I must confess I’d rather hit a pot-hole than a cow!

  2. Thanks for relating that crazy story! I always suspected there was serious late night hanky panky in the works on Karen Woods Road….

    If you’re serious about finding a place for Penny, let me know. I’ll make inquiries Bahamaway….

    • You bet Joe. As for Penny, no, we are keeping her. The question at the end of the post wasn’t specific to Penny. It was meant for people who have a bucolic view of owning a large animal….

  3. Tim, you obviously need to moo-ve further away from those pesky neighbors. (sorry)

Leave a Reply

